prospects

August 10, 2006

Yesterday was a blogging revelation. The idea that I can cut and paste from the jstor index using this, or any URL as a personal gateway back to the articles reveals exciting pathways towards expanding literacy. I have yet to discover the best way to save electronic articles. Returning to articles in JSTOR is met with personal setbacks. Such as when I save them as PDF’s I am forced to move them around on a USB mini-drive which can get tiresome. When I print them a big mess of paper is left on my desks or worse in my bag leaving me guilty about the wasted paper. Pasting the links here provides the perfect way to remind myself what I have found on my searches, organize them within “categories” and return to them with one click.

Following up on yesterday’s articles, I present to myself John Higham’s 1962 American Historical Review article which apparently was the first to name and criticize ‘consensus’ history. While searching the ’62 AHR index, I also found a Bailyn article that may be of help for my fall classes.

Beyond Consensus: The Historian as Moral Critic, pp. 609-625
John Higham

Political Experience and Enlightenment Ideas in Eighteenth-Century America, pp. 339-351
Bernard Bailyn

PS. Did someone “genteel, traditionalist segment of Anglo-American literary culture in the years between the two world wars.”

Review: [untitled]
Author(s) of Review: John Higham
Reviewed Work(s): James Truslow Adams: Historian of the American Dream by Allan Nevins…

Items Ordered Price
1 of: James Truslow Adams: Historian of the American Dream. by Nevins, Allan [Hardcover]
By: Allan Nevins
$2.75
Sold by: p-kbooks (seller profile)
– 1 item(s) Gift options: None

Item(s) Subtotal: $2.75
Leave a Reply

